May 1, 2017 • Written in Community Support 0 Comments

Tagged with Awards Kneehill County Rural Community Award • Written by Jonathan Koch

Does your community excel at attracting and retaining healthcare professionals? Then don't delay! Nominate your local health care heroes for an RPAP Rural Community Award.

Created in 2007, the Alberta Rural Community Physician Attraction and Retention Award recognizes a rural Alberta community that has best developed innovative and collaborative approaches and solutions resulting in successful physician attraction and retention in their area. We thank our partners, the Alberta Weekly Newspapers Association, award co-sponsor.

How do you give your rural community a healthy dose of recognition?


Download a nomination form and tell us about how your rural community has used innovative and collaborative solutions or approaches used to overcome physician attraction and retention issues.

For more on the award, or to access a nomination form, click here.

Deadline: June 1, 2017


Successful recipients will receive:

  • A professionally produced video to promote your community, telling the story of your committee's successful approach towards physician attraction and retention. See examples of these videos in the playlist above.
  • Recognition of the successful recipient will occur at a future RPAP event. The recognition video and the Alberta Rural Community Physician Attraction and Retention Award will be presented at this time.

What does it take to be an RPAP Rural Alberta Community of Distinction?


Need some inspiration? Read about Kneehill County's successful nomination in 2011 here

Adopting a balanced approach between physician attraction and retention made all the difference for the 2011 Alberta Rural Community Attraction and Retention Award recipient.

Kneehill County Recruitment and Retention Taskforce – covering the towns of Acme, Carbon, Linden, Three Hills, Trochu and the rural municipality of Kneehill County – was selected by the RPAP and Alberta Chambers of Commerce from a list of eight communities nominated for the 2011 Award.

The Kneehill Committee was recognized for its success engaging physicians and the community, and their strategy of meeting regularly and working together to welcome new physicians, while assisting and appreciating those who continue to practise in the community.

“The RPAP’s vision is to have the right number of physicians in the right places, offering the right services in Rural Alberta,” said RPAP Board Chair, Dr. Clayne Steed. “We feel Kneehill County truly reflects this spirit.”

The success of 2011 stood in stark contrast to the situation a year earlier, when Kneehill County was in crisis.

During the first six months of 2010, five physicians had either retired or left the Kneehill region, leaving 10,000 patients without a family physician. With ER wait times increasing and non-urgent patients overwhelming the local hospital, the Kneehill County Recruitment and Retention Committee needed to attract new physicians while making sure they retained those who remained.

Following the successful recruitment of a new physician to Trochu, the committee reached out to community and provincial partners, and out-going physicians to ask what they could do better. An action plan was developed following these consultations. Monthly meetings of the committee ensured a process was put into place that encompassed all aspects of physician recruitment and retention

While Kneehill County offered medical facilities and practice support, such as a signing bonus, the little things soon stood out as making the biggest difference. Physicians past, present and future stepped in and stepped up, offering support, and ensuring the Kneehill’s needs were looked after.

The community stepped up as well, welcoming new physicians, and making their family’s transition easier with baby-sitting help, gift baskets with life’s amenities and help around the house. Prospective physicians were shown the best of the community, even when weather was at its worst.

2011 Alberta Rural Community Attraction and Retention Award

Kneehill County put its best foot forward and the physicians followed. Seven new family physicians were recruited to Kneehill County by 2011, and two others were retained.

As one individual stated in their letter of support for Kneehill’s nomination: “Because of the tireless efforts of our Recruitment Team, Kneehill County families will continue to benefit from the ongoing, personal patient-physician relationship that is the cornerstone of rural medicine and rural communities.”

Alberta’s Minister of Health, the Hon. Fred Horne, Alberta Chambers’ Board President, Tim Bolton, and Dr. Steed presented the award to Kneehill representatives at the Alberta Chamber’s 2011 Fall Board Meeting.

Click here to view the entire RPAP Alberta Rural Community Attraction and Retention Award playlist and other great videos on our YouTube channel.

Add a Comment

While The Alberta Rural Physician Action Plan (RPAP) endeavours to maintain the currency and accuracy of information published via electronic media, the information is subject to change. It is advisable that users ascertain the currency of information immediately prior to use. RPAP disclaims all responsibility for loss or damage which may arise from the use of social media. Links to external websites and Facebook and Twitter user accounts, and all other social media accounts, are provided as a convenience to users and such sites and associated content. Data presented by RPAP is for informational purposes only and is provided without warranty, either expressed or implied. We assume no liability for any decision made or action taken or not taken by anyone using or relying upon this data. For further information about data usage and reproduction please contact RPAP Research and Analysis.

Made by Ignition Industries, CMS by HiQSoft