June 11, 2018 • 0 Comments

• Written by Lucas Warren

Dr. Bert Reitsma has stepped down as Chair of the Rural Health Professions Action Plan (RhPAP). The long-time rural surgeon and Blairmore resident has announced he will be retiring from practice later this year.

Replacing Dr. Reitsma as Chair is Dr. Rob Warren of Sundre who was serving as the RhPAP Board Vice-Chair. Linda Humphreys will now serve as Vice-Chair.

Other changes to the RhPAP Board will see Alberta Health Services (AHS) representative Dr. Evan Lundall replaced with Dr. Jack Regehr from Magrath, as well as the addition of Dr. John O’connor as the representative of the College of Physicians and Surgeons.

“On behalf of RhPAP, I would like to thank Dr. Reitsma for his leadership on the RhPAP Board of Directors, for his leadership, especially during the organization’s time of transition,” says Dr. Warren. “It’s important that we recognize both Dr. Reitsma and Dr. Lundall for their many years of service on the RhPAP Board of Directors and as advocates of rural Alberta. At the same time, we are excited to welcome Dr. Regehr and Dr. O’connor who bring exceptional talent and unique viewpoints to the board.”

“I am humbled and honoured to be named chair,” says Dr. Warren. “I hope to bring the same passion and enthusiasm to the role as Dr. Reitsma. I’m looking forward to working closely with the entire board as we continue to guide RhPAP into the future.”

- 30 - 

Established in 1991 by the Government of Alberta as the Alberta Rural Physician Action Plan, a renewed Rural Health Professions Action Plan, or RhPAP, is a collaborative partner and trusted advocate for rural Alberta communities trying to achieve greater access to health care. We are grateful to Alberta Health for its continued financial support.

For more information, please contact:

Bernard C. Anderson
Executive Director
Rural Health Professions Action Plan
Tel: 1-780-720-7332

Jonathan Koch
Director, Communications, Marketing and Research
Rural Health Professions Action Plan
Tel: 587-987-4325

Photo: RhPAP's New Board of Directors
(Back Row, L - R: Dr. John Gillet, Dr. Rob Warren, Al Kemmere, Andrew Neuner, Dr. Gavin Parker.
Front Row, L - R: Sherri di Lallo, Linda Humphreys, Dr. John O'connor)

Add a Comment

While The Alberta Rural Physician Action Plan (RPAP) endeavours to maintain the currency and accuracy of information published via electronic media, the information is subject to change. It is advisable that users ascertain the currency of information immediately prior to use. RPAP disclaims all responsibility for loss or damage which may arise from the use of social media. Links to external websites and Facebook and Twitter user accounts, and all other social media accounts, are provided as a convenience to users and such sites and associated content. Data presented by RPAP is for informational purposes only and is provided without warranty, either expressed or implied. We assume no liability for any decision made or action taken or not taken by anyone using or relying upon this data. For further information about data usage and reproduction please contact RPAP Research and Analysis.

Made by Ignition Industries, CMS by HiQSoft